Hannah McCurry

Biddeford High School (BHS) Senior Hannah McCurry has been selected as the recipient of the 2023 Principal’s Award.  The award, sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association (MPA), is given annually to a senior from each high school in recognition of their academic achievement and citizenship.  

“Throughout her years at Biddeford High School, Hannah has distinguished herself in the classroom as both a mentor and student, on the dance floor, and as a leader in the school and the community,” stated Martha Jacques, Principal of Biddeford High School. “In addition to being a role model to other students, a member of the National Honor Society, a mentor to our younger students, our yearbook Editor, passionate about dance, community service, her multiple club activities and academics, Hannah is a kind-hearted, helper that embodies the Tiger Pride that we are so proud of here at BHS.”

 McCurry has achieved academic success with a 4.26 GPA and attends the Biddeford Regional Center of Technology as part of the Business Law program.  She is passionate about dance and instructs youth, as well as dances competitively.  Hannah plans on continuing her post-secondary education in a Pre-Law program majoring in Psychology and minoring in English.

Teacher Heather Tremblay adds, “Hannah is among the most unwaveringly positive students I have ever taught. She truly illuminates the room with her smile. In every class I’ve had her, she remains fully engaged, propelling class conversations with thoughtful ideas, working collaboratively with all her peers, and fully investing herself in learning. She understands that growth requires focused, hard work, and she isn’t afraid to tackle challenges.”

The Principal's Award is presented in more than 100 Maine public and private high schools by member principals of the MPA, the professional association which represents Maine's school administrators.McCurry and recipients from other high schools in Maine are invited to an Honors Luncheon this spring. A minimum of five students, chosen by lottery from a pool of names of those students present at the luncheon, are awarded $1,000 scholarships. For more information about the award, visit https://mpaprof.org/mpa-principals-award-2.